The Penguin Diaries


Sold Out

The Penguin Diaries is a 65-poem sonnet sequence about the British Antarctic Expedition (1910-1913), better known as the Terra Nova Expedition. There is a sonnet for each member of the party, from Captain Robert Falcon Scott and ‘Titus’ Oates, to figures, such as Francis Drake, the secretary and Dennis Lillie, one of the biologists. 

These elegies tell the human story of a journey which continues to hold the public imagination, against the haunting backdrop of Antarctica itself.


A first prize winner of the National Poetry Competition, the Ledbury, Oxford Brooks and Bridport prizes Christopher James is also a recipient of an Eric Gregory Award from the Society of Authors.

Templar collections are England Underwater and The Fool. His pamphlet, The Manly Art of Knitting was a winner of the Templar Pamphlet & Collection Awards. as well as two Sherlock Holmes novels, including The Adventure of the Ruby Elephants (MX, 2015).

Christopher James was born in Paisley, Scotland in 1975, and educated at Newcastle and UEA.He lives in Suffolk with his family, folding bicycle and ukulele.

ISBN 9781911132066

Publication Date 31st January 2017


More from this collection